Midwinter (Dec 29, 2005)

Made this up on the spot. A sonnet.

This piece is now linked to a story.

Midwinter

At the turning of the year, all things do fade
And wither in the chill of winter’s frost.
We struggle to retain the gains we’ve made
and seek to salvage some of what’s been lost.

The weariness of work and endless toil
Drains from our bones the joy of evening’s rest;
No seedlings sprout from last year’s tired soil.
No effort seems to turn out for the best.

So, we seek sleep, escape, tending our fires
Through nights that chill our bones without relief.
Dreading to wake to unfulfilled desires,
False hope that crumbles like a long-dead leaf.

At such a time, near fallen in defeat,
A distant music sings in our old ears.
Renewing faintest hopes of something sweet
Found in the midst of toil and loss and tears.

The longest night is over. Now begin
The next steps in the dance. My love, we win.

About therevr

A human being, striving to become more so.

Posted on December 29, 2005, in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. RE: Midwinter

    This is really lovely.

    I am using it on a banner I’m making (will credit and link back to here, of course). I hope this is alright, if not please let me know.

  2. Lovely. I like the thought of linking renewal on the darkest, longest night.

    Came here on a rec by always jbj.

  3. I really love this piece – been thinking much on comings and goings and learning how to deal with loved one gone and sick.

    May I use your poem to go with an image that I am making? I will of course give full credit and a link back to this site. I found it via the banner made by corinna – oct 12, 2007.

  4. Sorry for the delayed reaction…. I’d be honored to have you use it.

Leave a Reply

