Today, desiring peace

Today, desiring peace,
I seek within the center
of my peripheral soul
The voice, so small and still
That calms the wind,
the fire,
and the raging sea.

The many clamoring voices
Raise the cry of fear and rage;
Yet within, my soul rejoices
at the passing of an age.

There’s no terror in tomorrow.
When souls depart, they bring the joy along
Which those who stop to sorrow
In their stillness, raise to song.
Let me bring the gift of peace
Uncovered from within
To every house I enter on my way.
This peace will guard my treasures,
Those I don’t amass with sin;
And when the storm is past, this gift will stay.

About therevr

A human being, striving to become more so.

Posted on September 11, 2006, in Poetry, Reflective. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

