My Valentine

St. Valentine was martyred for his faith,
Met obscure death and fades in legends dim,
Revived by those who seek to honor him
By now declaring love more strong than death.

Love struggles to declare itself today
Though fading and obscure it oft still seems.
In silent sacrifice I bow and pray
Beneath the broken altar of my dreams.

I have emptied my heart.  Why then is it so full?
I have released the reins. Why then this pull?
Now silence has engulfed me, what struggles still to speak?
Now strength has poured into me, why am I weak?

I hold my death within me like a joy, pregnant with birth.
My love will yet arise.
My silence carries songs to fill the earth
My unshed tears
Will touch the skies.

I asked, upon a time, for God to give to me
A love that I could feel, and touch, and see.
And now that God’s own love is mine
I now know what to seek from the Divine.

Turn me, Father, inside out
Glory, glory, glory

When my pain has blessed the world
Let someone tell the story.

Now I ask for nothing more
And, Nothing, you will give—
If I can be truly poor
I will have learned to live.

About therevr

A human being, striving to become more so.

Posted on February 14, 2007, in Poetry, Reflective, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Could I possibly link to this for the Ringing of the Bards carnival?

    You can read about it at this post: please leave me a comment and let me know if it’s OK. (And of course do come back and visit the carnival!)

  2. Permission granted, thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

