Sympathy pains

I observe the world, watch and pray;
Sometimes that’s all I do all day.
A bombing here, a cancer there—
What can avail my feeble prayer?

With God, I, helpless, see the strife,
Feeling the bleeding, the ebbing of life.
In faith believing, despite the pain,
That healing Love will prevail again.

No anxious spouse by bedside waiting
Can match the Love I’m contemplating:
The tender care for planet earth,
The New Creation’s place of birth.

When I arise from contemplation,
I’ll seek the healing of my nation;
For God so loved, and loves us still
With love that seeks to heal, not kill.

About therevr

A human being, striving to become more so.

Posted on July 13, 2007, in Poetry, Reflective, Theological. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Bob,

    I apologize for the spamlike comment, but I’m soliciting submissions for the Ringing of the Bards poetry blog carnival, August 11th.
    If you are interested, you can find more details at my blog.

    All poems are welcome, but I’m highlighting religious and spiritual poetry this month.

    Whether you submit or not, please come by and visit the carnival!

Leave a Reply

