All in Christ

Bless me, O Lord; I need so much
Thy loving voice, thy loving touch.
Without thy blessing, lost am I;
To thy dear feet for help I fly.
Bless me, I pray.
 
Where thou dost lead me I would go
Tho by a path I do not know;
Seeking no better, shorter way,
Nearing my heavenly home each day.
So lead, I pray.
 
Where thou wouldst have me, I would be,
The shadows roundabout I see.
Light from the shining of thy face
Enters each dark and cloudy pace.
So shine, I pray.
 
Feed me, O Lord, tho barren be
Fields all around and barren tree.
Manna thou has in plenteous store;
Give me of this, I ask no more.
Feed me, I pray.
 

—Kate Philbrick

This is the last poem composed by Mother Philbrick (my great-grandmother) before she passed away May 11, 1928. She was noted for her love of souls and her fervent prayers.

About therevr

A human being, striving to become more so.

Posted on August 7, 2007, in Poetry, Quoted, Reflective, Theological. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

