The Fearful 23rd

How might many people really feel about God?

The Lord is my taskmaster; I have barely enough.
He keeps me from the places I want to go.
He leads me outside my comfort zone.
He exhausts my soul.
He leads me in strict paths, just to make himself look good.
When I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
I will be terrified of every kind of evil,
 for thou has left me all alone.
Thy rod and thy staff, they frighten me.
Thou preparest bitter medicine for me
 in the presence of my friends.
Thou fillest my head with demands; 
my cup is nearly empty.
Surely fear and loss will pursue me till I die,
  and I will be forgotten forever.
 
About therevr

A human being, striving to become more so.

Posted on October 3, 2007, in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Judith Kernodle

    Hi Robert. I like this one the best. Why? Because I identify with these feelings. I will never forget the days when I learned what it was to ‘put it in the hands of the Lord.’ Sometimes, things get so huge and scarey that this becomes the only safety on this earth. Once I did this in the situation I was in at the time, my fears were so much less, but I still kept a watchful eye as you must also know thine enemy. When I actually put the situation into the hands of the Lord, I was no longer tormented by it. It was a total trust and I only acted by what He told me. There have been a few times like this in my life, but there was one huge one and that was when I learned the true meaning of those words. Judy K

Leave a Reply

