I learned to love

I learned to love by failing
for more than thirty years:
My efforts unavailing
Persisted through my fears.

I learned to love by losing,
By giving up the ground;
I learned to love by choosing
To keep what I have found.

I learned to love by staying
When hope for love was lost;
I learned to love by praying
And counting up the cost.

I learned to love by seeing
That love is more than life.
I learned to love by being
A husband to my wife.

(additional stanza offered on October 12, 2008 by Brent Jones):

I learned to hope by living,
And seeing things transformed,
And knowing through forgiving,
My soul can be reformed.

About therevr

A human being, striving to become more so.

Posted on December 19, 2007, in Journey, Poetry, Reflective and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My Lying Husband Poll:
    http://www.misterpoll.com/polls/315952

    Help me decide how to handle it.

  2. Thirtieth wedding anniversary, today.

  3. I learned to hope by living,
    And seeing things transformed,
    And knowing through forgiving,
    My soul can be reformed.

Leave a Reply

